Information Sessions

Meeting Information
Thank you for your interest in the Prince George's County Department of Social Services Foster Care/Adoption Program. The first step to become a foster care or adoptive parent in Prince George's County is to attend an Information Meeting.

All meetings are held at Prince George’s County Department of Social Services
925 Brightseat Road
Landover, Maryland 20785
Phone: 301-909-2300
Meetings are held from 5:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m. in Room 124
* These meetings are held on the weekend at a different location.

Registration is required, however, walk-ins are welcomed. To register email or call Lisa Robertson at 301-909-2300.

2016 Resource & Parent Information Meetings

  • Monday, June 6, 2016
  • *Saturday, June 18, 2016 - 10:30am-12:30 @ South Bowie Library, 15301 Hall Rd. Bowie, MD. 20721
  • *Saturday, July 16, 2016 - 10:30a.m. -12:30p.m. @ Accokeek Library, 157731 Livingston Rd., Accokeek, MD. 20607
  • Monday, July 25, 2016
  • Tuesday, August 16, 2016
  • Monday, August 29, 2016
  • Tuesday, September 13, 2016
  • Tuesday, September 27, 2016
  •  Monday, October 17, 2016
  •  Monday, November 7, 2016
  •  Monday, November 21, 2016
  •  Monday, December 5, 2016
     
    Requirements
    Basic Requirements for becoming a foster care or adoptive parent:
     
  • Be a resident of Prince George's County, Maryland
  • At least 21 years old
  • Single or married
  • May live in a house or apartment
  • Have working telephone service
  • All household members over 18 are willing to be fingerprinted and complete criminal back check
  • Be financially stable
  • Complete initial medical examination and biannual medical examination
  • Provide three (3) references regarding your parenting ability
  • Complete at least 27-hours of training
  • Complete a home safety inspection
  • Provide a child care plan
  • Refrain from physical or corporal punishment
Notes
  • During inclement weather the Department of Social Services follows the Prince George's County school systems schedule. If the schools are closed the information meeting for that date is automatically cancelled.
  • To get updated information during inclement weather or cancelled meetings call 301-909-2410.